A module is an element that displays on your page and presents some information to your visitors. For example, you can use the Latest Blog Posts module to show the last 4 published posts from your store’s Blog or you can use the Products module to show recently added products, most popular products, etc.
When you first create your store, it will have a couple of modules enabled by default populated with sample data. You can customize their settings, if you like, remove them, or add new ones.
Adding a new module
If you’d like to add a new module, click the button on the top left of the screen, then go to Modules -> Add Module and click the button next to the module that you would like to add. When you add a new module, it will be displayed at the bottom of the page. Keep in mind that when you add the modules they are not actually created. They are in a preview state. You can edit each module to change its settings to see how it looks and what it does, but it does not yet exist in your store – if you reload the page or navigate to another page, any unsaved changes will be lost.
You can start editing each module by clicking the edit button next to the module’s name once you’ve added it. Clicking it will open a panel that would allow you to set up its settings to your liking. Different modules have different settings available for modification. You can use the inputs and buttons to tweak the settings of the module and you will immediately see the changes reflected in the module. If you like to keep the changes that you’ve made, you can use the Save button to persist them or use the Cancel button to discard any changes you’ve made in your current session.
At the bottom of every editing panel, you will find the action buttons.
– Save button – Saves all changes you made to the module
– Enable toggle – Makes the module visible to everyone not just to the administrator. When the module is disabled it won’t be visible to the visitors of your shop, but it will remain visible to administrators. You can use this function if you like to test the module with different settings to see how it looks, but don’t want your clients to see it until you are completely done with the configuration, or perhaps you would like to hide it temporarily, but not remove all of the changes you have made to it. When you disable a module a red label will appear on the left side of the module. This way the administrator will be able to see and edit it but will know that it’s not visible to the customers.
– Delete button – This button can be used to delete the module. When you click it, a confirmation dialog will appear. If you agree, the module will be deleted and you will not be able to recover it.
– Cancel button – It restores the last saved state of the module.